Voice Of The People

20 AAP MLAs & Office of Profit Controversy : Timeline of the Events

After the recent ruling of Election Commission in which it disqualified 20 MLAs of Aam Aadmi Party in Office of Profit Case, we are committed to cover the elections that are round the corner for 20 Constituencies of Delhi. We will be reporting from each and every Vidhansabha (going to poll) and like always we will be coming out with our own opinion poll. But before that, lets have a look at the events that took place related to this case.

March 13, 2015: After the AAP won 67 seats in Delhi. Arvind Kejriwal, CM Delhi appointed 21 of his MLAs as Parliamentary secretary.

June 19, 2015: The appointment was challenged by advocate Prashant Patel. He filed the petition to the then President, Pranab Mukherjee and requested the disqualification of 21 MLAs.

June 24, 2015: After the controversy erupted, The Delhi Legislative Assembly headed by the CM Arvind Kejriwal passed the Delhi Member of Legislative Assembly (Removal of Disqualification) (Amendment Bill), 2015 excluding Parliamentary Secretaries from ‘Office of Profit” with retrospective effect.

June 13, 2016: Then President Pranab Mukherjee did not give nod to Delhi Members of Legislative Assembly (Removal of Disqualification) Bill.

September 8, 2016: The said order was set aside by Delhi High Court.

September 8, 2016: Show cause notice issues to all the 21 MLAs by the Election Commission.

June 24, 2017: The MLAs requested the Election Commission to set aside the case of ‘ Office of Profit’, filed against them. The same was dismissed by the EC.

January 19, 2018: Election Commission suggests debarment of 20 AAP legislators in the ‘Office of Profit’ case.

January 21, 2018: President elected Ram Nath Kovind accepts the suggestion given by the Election Commission and disqualified the 20 (Jarnail Singh had already resigned as an MLA to contest from AAP ticket in Punjab Assembly Elections 2017) AAP MLAs.

January 22, 2018: AAP withdraws plea from High-Court over the disqualification of MLAs, says that it will file fresh application before the HC as the withdrawn plea was filed before the President’s decision came.

January 24, 2018:  HC refuses to stay the notification issues by the Centre which disqualifies the appointment of MLAs. The High Court also stayed any decision on by-poll.

January 30, 2018: High Court of Delhi asks EC to justify the disqualification recommendation. Also extends the stay on by-poll.

February 08, 2018: HC orders that the AAP MLAs disqualification case to be heard on day to day basis.

February 09, 2018: AAP Lawyer Mohan Parasaran pleads, “No pecuniary benefit was received by the lawmakers, while appointed as parliamentary secretaries, and the EC did not consider vital materials while arriving at its decision recommending their disqualification”. HC says, “Even if no benefit has been received or taken, if a post has the potential of yielding pecuniary gain, then it would be an office of profit”. Matter posted for 12th February.

February 12, 2018: AAP disqualified MLAs tell the HC that EC didn’t give them chance to represent themselves. The recommendation made to President didn’t look into the principle of natural justice.

Lets see how this issue turns out in the coming days. We promise you that we will keep informing you all the latest happening related to this case.




Must Read